-
A Reader Bibliography for Eastern KentuckyThis bibliography, was prepared by Edward R. Hazelett, Johnson County educator, researcher and historian. Mr. Hazelett instilled a love and respect for history in students through his work with the History Club at Meade Memorial High School and the Young Historians at Johnson Central High School. Mr. Hazelett was the curator and caretaker of the Big Sandy Valley Historical Society's library.
-
Topics in the Information Files
This collection consists of news clippings, papers, speeches, reports and other printed matter. The materials are housed in files according to these topics and may be viewed in the library.
-
Henry Preston Scalf
The Society holds a small, selective collection of Mr. Scalf's published works and other materials presented by Mr. Scalf to the Society.
The complete Scalf archive is housed in the Allera Library at the University of Pikeville. -
Briar Buck's ScratchesAn annotated bibliography of the articles of Henry Scalf published in the Floyd County Times from 1939 to 1976 - by Dr. Robert Perry.
-
The Floyd County TimesThe articles in the Perry bibliography can be located in the Floyd County TImes. All available issues of the Floyd County Times are freely available online from the Floyd County Public Library.
Periodical Backfiles
The library maintains the Society's periodical backfiles of publications from local and regional genealogical and historical societies.
The books and archival collections of the Big Sandy Valley Historical Society are now accessible from
The Big Sandy Community and Technical College's Mayo Campus Library.
The library is located on the second floor of Building C.
Materials in print are located in the library - finding aids and E-resources can be accessed here.
BSVHS Core Titles Freely Available Online in Digital Format
Core titles from the Big Sandy Valley Historical Society
made available here in electronic format:
-
The Rebellion record : a diary of American events, with documents, narratives, illustrative incidents, poetry, etc.
edited by Frank Moore ; with an introductory address on the causes of the struggle, and the great issues before the country, by Edward Everett.
-
American Ancestry
In 1887 Thomas P. Hughes produced a 12 volume series American Ancestry giving the name and descent, in the male line, of Americans whose ancestors settled in the United States previous to 1776.
-
Kerr's History of Kentucky Volume IV
Kerr's History of Kentucky is a 5 volume set. Volume IV is available online from the HathiTrust.
-
Book List
Titles in Print Format - available at the Mayo Campus Library - the core of this collection is comprised of over 300 volumes from the library of the Big Sandy Valley Historical Society.
-
Historical Sketches
The Society's collection included many historical sketches from the Southwest Virginia Historical Society. some were published in books that are now out of print. These and many others are freely available online from the Virginia Gen Web