Search techniques
-
Identify a keyword you want to use, such as a character's name or an idea from the novel / Bronte's writing
-
Search multiple databases
-
Read the entire article before deciding whether or not to use it
-
Save the article by e-mailing it to yourself or adding it to an online bibliography
Starting Ideas
Examples:
- Jane Eyre (Literary Criticism of the Novel)this is the "BIG" search, where you can add additional keywords using the filter on the right
Some Databases to Check
Search for Jane Eyre or a theme from Bronte's work in these databases:
- Gale Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
- JSTOR
Arts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture. Also contains sources on Biology and a number of other subjects.
- Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more.
- Gale Literary Index
Gale Literary Index brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews