History: Databases & Library Resources

Slavery in America is a digital collection of over 600 documents in 75,000 pages. This project documents key aspects of the history of slavery in America from its origins in Africa to its abolition, including materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, the religious views on slavery, etc.
This digital archive provides access to a wide variety of documents-personal narratives, pamphlets, addresses, political speeches, monographs, sermons, plays, songs, poetic and fictional works published between the 17th and late 19th centuries.

The American Revolution is part of our ongoing series Sources in U.S. History Online. Consisting of 450 titles totaling 94,000 pages of text.
This digital archive documents the revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the earliest protests in 1765 through the peace treaty of 1783. The collection examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the actual war for American independence through its eight long years of conflict.

This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. This collection includes 1888-1994.

Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.

This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. It is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.

Full text open source books of high scholarly merit in a variety of fields for a largely academic audience and the publication of books about the history and culture of Kentucky, the Ohio Valley region, the Upper South, and Appalachia. More than 1,000 titles in the collections.

The Civil War Consists of nearly 500 titles totaling about 90,000 pages of text. 
This digital archive documents the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war in all its complexity; its battles and campaigns, its political and religious aspects, the experiences of its leaders and common soldiers, the home front and the military campground, from its causes to its consequences.The archive provides access to a wide variety of documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, regimental histories and photograph albums, legal treatises and children's books.