Students
We here at BSCTC hope you find a welcoming campus and know that staff and faculty are working to ensure your success. During your time at BSCTC and beyond, knowing more about real-world issues such as racism, classism, and ableism will better equip you to create a supportive environment for your friends, family, and co-workers. That’s why we’ve developed this resource page to help provide a starting point for you to engage in ongoing discussions. We hope that you gain the tools you need to create real change, here or wherever your success story takes you.
PODCASTS
This is a list of podcasts that might be of interest. This is not an endorsement of any ideas that might appear or be discussed during the podcasts.
Suggestions for Further Resources
For further information, please contact the Director of Cultural Diversity, Jasmine Sauceda-Izbrand by phone at 606.889.4732, by email at jsauceda0001@kctcs.edu, or by stopping by their office on the Prestonsburg campus in the Johnson Building, rm J125-A.
Suggestions for Further Resources
Picture
Academic Interests
DEIB (Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging)
Linguistic Diversity – Have you ever wondered why the way people write essays is different than how they talk?
Diversity in Writing – What if your published paper didn’t have to be in MLA format?
Disabilities in Academia – What is retrofitting and what is Universal Design?
Diversity in the Community – How We Prosper
Unconscious Bias – Did you even know you were thinking that?
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office). - Gale Primary Sources in U.S. History Slavery in America
Slavery in America is a digital collection of over 600 documents in 75,000 pages. This project documents key aspects of the history of slavery in America from its origins in Africa to its abolition, including materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, the religious views on slavery, etc.
This digital archive provides access to a wide variety of documents-personal narratives, pamphlets, addresses, political speeches, monographs, sermons, plays, songs, poetic and fictional works published between the 17th and late 19th centuries. - JSTOR
Arts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture. Also contains sources on Biology and a number of other subjects.
Social Issues
News Resources
Real-world issues or applications of issues relevant to them or their community, or to provide exposure to matters of import.
News Resources – Remember, it is important to go past our own lines of thinking so we can find solutions for everyone.
- NewsBank InfoWeb
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional and national level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
- Black Life in America
![[a logo of Black Life in America]](https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/2058/images/BLA-web-button2.jpg)
This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. It is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.