Treasure Hunts
![[an illustration of a student studying with a pencil and two books]](https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/2058/images/Studying.gif)
With the Treasure Hunt group research assignments, students are asked to work in groups to find library research about the unit ideas. You will be working with other group members to find FOUR (4) citations for a works cited bibliography about a particular research question.
Things to keep in mind:
- group members can share the "gift" citation
- if you find a great citation, you can share a second citation
- group members need to have two unique citations per person
Bibliography Outcome
Your goal is a works cited page!
click to enlarge
Rules for these bibliographies: lines are double-spaced, Times New Roman font, alphabetical by author's name or first word of title, MLA citation format, no all-caps, Works Cited header line
MyBib
- MyBibThis is a free resource that can be used to create a works cited page. Watch the video below to learn how to use this resource.
Strange Citation?
My citation looks weird!
What do I do if I get this error?
There's a simple fix for that idea.
Don't use your link; use write/paste citation.
Specific Eras and Peoples
Encyclopedia of Native American History by ISBN: 9780816072507The three-volume Encyclopedia of Native American History offers a comprehensive and authoritative look at the most important individuals, events, and topics in American Indian history. Researchers and students alike will benefit from the in-depth coverage of tribes, notable leaders and events, customs, dress, dwellings, weapons, government, religion, and more.
Women's Rights in the United States by ISBN: 9781610692151A comprehensive encyclopedia tracing the history of the women's rights movement in the United States from the American Revolution to the present day. * Offers informed, critical insights and perspectives from editor Tiffany K. Wayne; advising editor Lois Banner, noted author, professor, historian, and feminist; and expert contributors * Comprises more than 800 entries in four volumes on the people, organizations, events, legislation, and primary documents impacting gender relations in the United States * Supplies valuable content for librarians' events and programming for Women's History Month each March * Provides listings of U.S. court cases regarding women's rights chronologically organized by major time periods * Aligns with high school and college curricula in offering the experiences of American women * Includes coverage of current and ongoing issues related to women's civil and political equality in the 21st century
Encyclopedia of North American Immigration by ISBN: 9781438140568The transformation of the culture of the North American continent since the 15th century is one of the great historical events of the past 500 years. For good or bad, it has shaped the destinies of millions of people. Encyclopedia of North American Immigration, Revised Edition is a comprehensive encyclopedia consisting of hundreds of A-to-Z entries on events, themes, people, places, and legislation related to immigration. This valuable reference to a popular and ever-changing topic provides straightforward and concise information on the groups, policies, and events that defined the world's greatest migration of peoples and shaped their reception in North America.
Race and Racism in the United States by ISBN: 9781440803451How is race defined and perceived in America today, and how do these definitions and perceptions compare to attitudes 100 years ago... or 200 years ago? This four-volume set is the definitive source for every topic related to race in the United States. In the 21st century, it is easy for some students and readers to believe that racism is a thing of the past; in reality, old wounds have yet to heal, and new forms of racism are taking shape.
Encyclopedia of the United States in the 19th Century by ISBN: 9780684804989The 19th century was arguably the most important in the nation's history, making the publication of this first-rate encyclopedia a significant event. Students using this 600-entry work. Covers all aspects of 19th century history: population, politics and government, economy and work, society and culture, religion, social problems and reform, everyday life, and foreign policy
Video
Academic One File
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
JSTOR
- JSTOR
Arts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture. Also contains sources on Biology and a number of other subjects.
CREDO
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Is Your Clue a Person's Name?
- Gale Biography in Context
Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Specific Wars
Wars in the Early 20th Century (1900 To 1950) by ISBN: 9781438163581The Reference Guide to the Major Wars and Conflicts in History set covers some 2,000 wars from prehistory to the present. Entries describe not only the military aspect of war but also the social and political context in which the wars occurred, providing readers and researchers with the important facts as well as the historical background for each war. Each title in the set focuses on one historic era, beginning with an introduction that outlines warfare in the respective time period and ending with a select bibliography and a chronology.
World War I by ISBN: 9781440841217In World War I: The Essential Reference Guide, detailed reference entries, a comprehensive overview essay, plus additional examinations of the causes and consequences of the conflict provide readers with the context needed to understand all aspects of World War I. Important primary source documents like the Zimmerman Telegram and Balfour Declaration are included and accompanied by explanations that supply readers with key historical perspective.
Wars in the Contemporary World (1950 to Present) by ISBN: 9781438163598The Reference Guide to the Major Wars and Conflicts in History set covers some 2,000 wars from prehistory to the present. Entries describe not only the military aspect of war but also the social and political context in which the wars occurred, providing readers and researchers with the important facts as well as the historical background for each war. Each title in the set focuses on one historic era, beginning with an introduction that outlines warfare in the respective time period and ending with a select bibliography and a chronology.
Korean War and the Vietnam War by ISBN: 9781615300112Spanning from the 1950s to the 1970s, the United States was involved in two wars that were fought far from homeone in aid of South Korea against the neighboring Communist North Korea, and a second waged through the jungles of Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos. Both of these engagements were a reaction to what American leaders feared as being Communist takeovers, and both created storms of political controversy and upheaval that still echo today. This book explores both wars in detail to help readers understand why the conflicts occurred and what their lasting effects have been.
