Don't Stop Believing Research Project
![[an illustration of a student studying with a pencil and two books]](https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/2058/images/Studying.gif)
With this research project, you will be taking an intimate look at a specific time period or event in history that you cannot gain from simply listening to a lecture or watching a video.
Things to keep in mind:
- Choose your Event/Time Period early in the semester.
- Research the Event/Time Period using library resources, which will include a newspaper or journal article, a book, a documentary, and an interview. The interview can be pre-recorded or conducted by you. The documentary should be professionally done in consultation with historians .
MyBib
-
MyBibThis is a free resource that can be used to create a works cited page. Watch the video below to learn how to use this resource.
Strange Citation?
My citation looks weird!
What do I do if I get this error?
There's a simple fix for that idea.
Don't use your link; use write/paste citation.
World History Reference Resources
-
CIVILIZATION AND URBANISM, RISE OF
From the Encyclopedia of Archaeology -
Encyclopedia of Empire
The Encyclopedia of Empire provides exceptional in-depth, comparative coverage of empires throughout human history and across the globe. -
Major Themes in World History, 600–1450
In Encyclopedia of the Medieval World (600 to 1450) from World History: A Comprehensive Reference Set -
World History, Africa in
From the Encyclopedia of African History -
World History: A Comprehensive Reference Set
The ultimate resource for World History, this 6 volume work covers hundreds of topics on great events, notable people throughout history, and more.
JSTOR
-
JSTOR
Arts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture. Also contains sources on Biology and a number of other subjects.
Academic One File
-
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Do you need a biography?
-
Gale Biography in Context
Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Picture
Conducting a Personal Interview
PERSONAL INTERVIEW
When you are conducting a personal interview, you should make sure to plan, act professionally, and communicate with your interviewee.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
CREDO
-
Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Films on Demand
-
Films on Demand
Throughout the collection you will find: step-by-step training videos; scholarly commentary; vivid animation; full-length investigative documentaries; and hundreds of short-form videos. Films on Demand offers search by topical category, such as monthly exhibitions or in-the-news ideas, or search by content producer, such as BBC. It divides each film into succinct clips which can be used in class or projects. The entire catalog is keyword searchable and transcripts are provided for searching by ideas.