Library Resources
- Gale Biography in Context
Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
- Britannica Academic
Britannica Online® delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the insightful Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research-all from one resource.
- JSTOR
Arts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture. Also contains sources on Biology and a number of other subjects.
- World History Collection
World History Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field
- Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary academic journals. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
- NewsBank
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional and national level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
Search the Library
![[BSCTC Library logo]](http://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/2058/images/Library_Logo_BSCTC.png){kind=logo}
Wikipedia is useful for this project to find songs quickly by year, BUT you can't cite it
Try these resources when looking for info about a particular composer or singer, or about a particular historical event. You will need to use scholarly resources, such as journals, when discussing your song or historical event.
List of Years In History
Use this timeline to select a year and look for significant events. After finding your events, you will create a soundtrack to match. Be prepared to explain why this event was more important to select than many of the other events. You select 5 ideas; you'll have to show why they were important.
Remember you can't cite Wikipedia. You can find additional articles using library databases.
Pop Charts
- Playback Top Charts
This is the music top charts by year.
Library of Congress National Jukebox
- Library of Congress National Jukebox ProjectThe Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center and other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library of Congress a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings.