What is a Compare and Contrast Paper?
A compare and contrast paper is designed to examine how a idea/topic is similar (compare) and different (contrast). It can be helpful to begin by making a list of both ideas and their attributes. This will allow you to see the similarities and the differences.
Getting Started
Begin this research project by deciding on your topic. Think about topics that are meaningful to you and don't forget that you must examine both sides of the issue.
Writing Prompt:
Compare and contrast the chief arguments on both sides of an issue that is important to you to inform your reader of the thinking on both sides. This can be an issue at any level—state, local, regional, national. Remember that while your opinion plays a small part in the paper, your overall purpose is to inform your reader of both sides of the issue.
Kentucky Newspapers on NewsBank
- NewsBank InfoWeb
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional and national level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
MyBib
- MyBibThis is a free resource that can be used to create a works cited page. Watch the video below to learn how to use this resource.
What do I do next?
Begin your research using the library resources. Back up any information that you add to your paper with research.
EBSCOhost Search
Topic Search
- TOPICsearchCovers current events including social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and controversial opinions and viewpoints. Contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
JSTOR
- JSTOR
Arts and humanities database on language and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the study of art and architecture. Also contains sources on Biology and a number of other subjects.
Assignment requirements
MLA formatting
3-5 Pages
2-4 credible sources
Works Cited Page (not included in your page count)
Peer Review: 10/7/15 and 10/19
Final Due: 10/21/15
Opposing Viewpoints
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
![[a logo for Gale Opposing Viewpoints]](https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/2058/images/Gale-opposingviewpoints.png)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Judy K. Howell
One Bert Combs Drive
Prestonsburg, KY 41653
Text Me @ 606-328-6607
CREDO
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
