What is a definition Essay?
Your definition essay will be an exploration of a word.
Getting started
Use the headings below to determine a word that you would like to explore:
- Words related to art or sport
- Words that are (or should be) in the news
- Words that are overused, un-used, or abused
- Words that make you laugh or worry
- Words that do or don't describe you
MyBib
- MyBibThis is a free resource that can be used to create a works cited page. Watch the video below to learn how to use this resource.
What do I do Next?
After you have chosen your word, then begin finding your resources. Remember: Unless your paper has a personal element, such as a word that does or does not describe you, it should be written in third person point of view.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Assignment Requirements
Your paper should be:
3-4 Pages
MLA Format
Three Sources (One will be a reputable dictionary, either print or online). All sources must be credible.
Judy Howell
She, Her, Hers
Contact:
Prestonsburg Campus Library
One Bert Combs Drive
Prestonsburg, KY 41653
Text Me @ 606-328-6607
One Bert Combs Drive
Prestonsburg, KY 41653
Text Me @ 606-328-6607
606-889-4750
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
